18 Manitoba municipalities in state of emergency due to flooding

As flood forecasts worsen south of the border, more Manitoba municipalities have declared local states of emergency following a rainy weekend.

On Monday, 18 municipalities issued local states of emergency in response to local flooding and infrastructure failure, according to the provincial government.

Four days earlier, only six communities had declared a state of emergency.

The Interlake Rural Municipality of Saint-Laurent is one of the newest communities to join the list.

Warden Cheryl Smith says the part of the municipality east of Highway 6 is the hardest hit, with many roads closed over the weekend.

Crews work to clean up water in the RM of Saint-Laurent. The community declared a local state of emergency on Monday. (St-Laurent and Surroundings/Facebook)

“With overland flooding, we are concerned for the families, farms and businesses that are on this side of the highway. We are doing everything we can,” she said.

“The public works people, they’re out there, they’re smoking culverts. We have contractors that were hired earlier because of the heavy snowfall we’ve had. We’re opening up the ditches as a preemptive strike. “

The weekend brought heavy rainfall across the province, including an average of 40 to 50 millimeters in the Red River Basin, depending on the province.

The predicted floods south of the border have also deteriorated slightly.

The U.S. National Weather Service predicts the Red River crest at Pembina, ND will be 0.61 meters (two feet) below the record set in 1997 and slightly above 2009 levels, according to published data. Monday.

This crest is expected on May 9.

The following communities have issued local states of emergency:

  • Rural Municipality of Cartier.
  • Rural Municipality of Morris.
  • Rural Municipality of Ritchot.
  • Rural Municipality of Fisher.
  • Rural Municipality of Montcalm.
  • Town of Morden.
  • Winnipeg City Beach.
  • Municipality of Pembina.
  • Town of Arborg.
  • Rural Municipality of Armstrong.
  • Rural Municipality of Dufferin.
  • Municipality of Bifrost–Riverton.
  • Rural Municipality of Headingley.
  • Rural Municipality of Thompson.
  • Rural Municipality of West Interlake.
  • Rural Municipality of Saint-Laurent.
  • Rural Municipality of Grahamdale.

The province’s list does not include First Nations. Peguis First Nation, Fisher River Cree Nation and Long Plain First Nation have also declared states of emergency.

Comments are closed.